Skip to content
TownbriefSherborn
Sign in Subscribe
Friday, November 6, 2026 Sherborn, Massachusetts · Change town
Government · Town Meeting

Town Meeting approves $37.2 million budget

Sherborn Town Meeting approved a $37.2 million fiscal 2027 budget, 95-10, and adopted a stormwater by-law, with five borrowing items contingent on a future debt exclusion vote.

Email Text Facebook X

In this report: Key decisions · Full report · Sources

What happened

Town Meeting approved the $37.2 million fiscal 2027 budget, 95-10, avoiding a Proposition 2.5 override but leaving essentially no excess levy capacity. Voters also authorized five borrowing items that take effect only if a later debt exclusion vote passes, and adopted a stormwater and land disturbance by-law, 81-20. Tsai warned that fiscal 2028 will be harder, and the transcript gives no election date for the debt exclusions.

Key decisions

  • 💰 Fiscal 2027 omnibus budget, $37.2 million. Voters approved the fiscal 2027 omnibus budget, a 5 percent increase over fiscal 2026. It avoids a Proposition 2.5 override but leaves essentially no excess levy capacity. (Vote 95 to 10). Read case details
  • 📜 Stormwater and Land Disturbance Management By-law. Voters adopted the by-law, which extends stormwater rules townwide and adds a minor permit tier. Harrison said she would need to look into whether the Coolidge Crossing 40B project sought an exemption. (Vote For: 81, Against: 20). Read case details
  • 📜 Zoning cleanups, including low or moderate income apartment deletion. Voters passed the zoning cleanups, including deletion of the low or moderate income apartment use, with the two-thirds vote required. (Vote For: 92, Against: 8). Read case details
  • 💰 Pine Hill School water tank borrowing, $506,250. Voters approved borrowing of $506,250 for the Pine Hill School water supply tank, which the state Department of Environmental Protection has mandated be replaced. The borrowing takes effect only if voters approve a debt exclusion at an election. (Vote passed with 94 percent). Read case details
  • 💰 Town Hall roof and exterior borrowing, $400,000. Voters approved $400,000 in borrowing for Town Hall roof and exterior work. It takes effect only if voters approve a debt exclusion at an election. (Vote passed; two-thirds required, count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Regional high school roof borrowing, $672,551. Voters added $672,551 as Sherborn's share of the Dover-Sherborn Regional High School roof and skylight replacement. It takes effect only if voters approve a debt exclusion at an election. (Vote passed; two-thirds required, count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Roadway borrowing, $275,000. Voters approved $275,000 in roadway borrowing. It takes effect only if voters approve a debt exclusion at an election. (Vote passed; two-thirds required, count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Free cash capital items, $500,000. Voters approved $500,000 in free cash capital items under items 1 through 5 of Article 10. (Vote passed; count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Facility design plans, $125,000. Voters approved $125,000 from the Capital Stabilization Fund for seven facility design studies. The Capital Budget Committee had voted 2-1 on the studies. (Vote passed; count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Recycling center borrowing, $175,000. Voters approved $175,000 in borrowing for recycling center equipment. It takes effect only if voters approve a debt exclusion at an election. (Vote passed; two-thirds required, count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Fire department equipment and repairs, $90,240. Voters approved $90,240 in fire department equipment and repairs. (Vote passed; count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Consent agenda, Articles 1 through 8. Voters passed the consent agenda, which included $390,000 in supplemental fiscal 2026 spending for snow and ice removal and legal counsel and a $100,000 deposit to the OPEB trust fund. (Vote passed on electronic vote; count not stated in the transcript). Read case details
  • 📜 Land Acquisition Committee charge update. Voters updated the Land Acquisition Committee's charge after Select Board member Marion Neutra presented the change. (Vote passed; count not stated). Read case details
  • 💰 Article 13, use of free cash. Voters took no action on Article 13, so no free cash use was approved under it. (Vote passed; count not stated). Read case details

Ask Townbrief about this meeting: “Did Sherborn's fiscal 2027 budget of $37.2 million require a Proposition 2.5 override?” Ask this question

Full meeting report

The complete, section-by-section account of the meeting, 960 words, for members.

Checked against the record: before publication this article was automatically compared with the meeting transcript.

Members read the rest of this story and every Sherborn meeting we cover, in full.

Become a member

A 30-day free trial needs a payment method. After it, your membership renews at the price shown at checkout until you cancel, which you can do anytime from your account. Subscription terms

Share this story

Email Text Facebook X

Know someone in Sherborn who follows town government? Share Townbrief Sherborn: they can sign up free.

Share this story

Email Text Facebook X

Anyone can open a shared story. Members' stories show the free part and a sign-up line to people who are not members.